What types of scar are there?

Scars are produced as a result of a trauma to the skin. Wounds produce scars, which are part of the normal healing process.

Different types of Scar

There are three main types of scars:

Keloid Scars

A Keloid scar is an overgrowth of tissue that occurs when too much collagen is produced at the site of the wound - and the scar keeps growing, even after the wound has healed.

They are often raised above the skin, can feel itchy, and are painful.

Hypertrophic Scars

Hypertrophic scars are the result of an imbalance in the production of collagen in a healing wound. They follow the area of the wound. 

A hypertrophic scar is a red, raised scar that forms along a wound. 

Atrophic Scars

Atrophic scars are caused by skin conditions such as acne and chicken pox and are small, pitted indentations in the skin. They can also be the result of an injury, which may have included the loss of underlying fat.The Scars are sometimes red, but this coloration can fade over time.